Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not sure why one pic is turned. I have a 3" lift with 34s. I recently had hip replacement surgery and now the step is a tad to high. Someone told me to look into adding some sort of dropdown step. I am new to to Jeep family and I am not sure what to even look for or where to look. I need guidance from my fellow JKers. Pictures would be helpful too. Thank you

cmajk

Attachments

·
Registered
39 Posts
I am new to the JKs too. So new in fact that I haven't even picked up my wrangler. Lol. However when I was shopping around I did see one JK that had a side step/rail that lowered down when you opened the door and then folded itself back up when you closed it. Looked pretty cool and useful if you had any mobility/arthritis/injuries issues. Wish I had taken a pict of it so I could share it with you. Good luck in your search but yes there's definitely something out there that could work for you. Also you can install grab bars that can also assist you in and out.

·
Grumpy Old Guy
3,216 Posts

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
If you want power steps, check out AMP Research steps or Rockslide Engineering Power steps. The AMP steps run about $1299 and will work fine for a Jeep that won't see a ton of offroading. The RSE steps are a whole different animal. The steps are built into rock sliders and are crazy tough. They are also $1800ish for a pair. I have knee and back issues and will be going with the RSE sliders.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

·
Registered
92 Posts
Reactions: cmajk

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
My guess is you're looking for something like this. Has a good look and the steps hang down a bit further than most side steps. These are the Smittybilt ones, but there are other companies that make them as well.

https://www.extremeterrain.com/smittybilt-nfab-nerf-steps-txt-blk-0717jk-4dr.html