Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new to the jeep thing and as our snow builds here I really want to drive around in it and climb on some snowy hills. I want to know the proper procedures and techniques for snow wheeling to keep my car safe.. anything down to the seemingly obvious don't floor it into a snowbank.

btw I have a 97 4.0 with a standard trans. 31" tires.

Thanks Happy wheelin!

·
Registered
419 Posts
^ What he said!

I just got back from big bear and hit up some trails in my gf's lifted TJ with 33" BFG KO's

We couldn't climb hills even in 4LO... lol... we just ran through mud instead :)

But seriously either go with someone else to pull you out if you get stuck, have a winch and lockers would help.

If we had any of this we would have pushed it but otherwise sitting stuck in the middle of the woods while it's in the 30's is no fun.

Tire chains may help or studs... I dunno. And bring some bags of sand because it works wonders on ice

·
Registered
16,641 Posts
heavy snow.. stay on top.. don't spin your tires.. Air down..

light snow you want to maintain your speed.. Dont slow down but also don't go to fast.. you are wheeling after all..

bring a friend with another 4x4. Have recovery equipment and comunication devices.. I.E CB Radios.. Also If you can bring someone with a winch that helps out a ton

finally have fun out there :wavey:

·
Registered
3,136 Posts
8 psi :).

·
Registered
3,136 Posts
Oh, and always carry a shovel...

·
Registered
1,851 Posts