Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the Jeep world. My (just got 2 days ago) 06 Wrangler Unlimited Soft Top is in need of some type of lube on the zipper. It's way hard to zip. What is the best thing to lube the zippers?
Thanks

·
Registered
3,133 Posts
This is what's left of a "plumbers candle" that is over a decade old and on it's third convertible. Works like a charm. Just run it along both sides of the zipper a few times every now and then. I keep it in the Jeep now. I bought it at a hardware store for a dollar in the bargain bin. Works great and it's mess free.

Finger Hand Thumb

·
Registered
4,110 Posts
Camping stores sell zipper lube for tents and is cheaper than what the dealers sell the Chrysler product for.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Ha, I will look for this! It reminds me of Mr. Zogs sex wax for my old longboards.

This is what's left of a "plumbers candle" that is over a decade old and on it's third convertible. Works like a charm. Just run it along both sides of the zipper a few times every now and then. I keep it in the Jeep now. I bought it at a hardware store for a dollar in the bargain bin. Works great and it's mess free.

View attachment 165995

·
Registered
35 Posts
I'm a Scuba diver and just use my dry suit's zipper wax. You can snag it for $5 at any dive shop. Looks like there's lots of options out there!

·
Registered
3,133 Posts
What is a plumbers candle?
Evidentially, it's a big assed candle. lol. All I know is, that is what it was labeled as in the dollar bin when I bought it. I had used candles for stubborn zippers before (tip from my old man), and figured why not. I'd say any candle or wax would work. Unfortunately though, this might be another case where size matters. For convenience, you want a candle big enough that it doesn't break when you run it along the zipper.

·