Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Jeeps. I have plans to buy a 2002 4 cylinder. I know it isn't the most powerful made. I don't intend to do any rock climbing or wading any rivers. I would like to set it up with a winch and some mods that would help in trail riding.

My first question is in the first days of the old Willies Jeep it had skinny tires and was driven every where with out to much trouble. If it got stuck a couple of guys with 4x4x8' or so would pry it out and keep going. They also had low power flat heads. I guess my question is why the tall and fat tires? Don't you need more power to turn over bigger tires?

Question two would be why is a four cylinder burning so much gas? They are saying that it only gets 17 and 15 miles to the gal. Is it because of weight? How can you get better gas mileage.

Question three is is the 2002 Jeep 4 cylinder auto worth $6000?

Question four is to be workable on trails will I have to replace the auto with a five speed.

That is all the questions I have for now. Thank you all for any information you can offer.

·
Registered
57 Posts
question 3 - that depends on the condition and any upgrades - buying from private or dealer? Private party will get a better deal - I just bought a 98 with 116k miles for 4200 - it only needs minor work done. IMO a 02 that is in decent shape is worth 6k - but i would personally pass since its auto but that me

·
Registered
222 Posts