Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a stock 08 Wrangler with 25k on it. Has never lost a drop of oil between oil changes. Brother inlaw comes to me wanting to borrow my jeep to drive to Iowa from Oklahoma. The oil change is only 1500 miles toward the next but he goes to have it changed before the trip and it was down to a little over a quart in it. No leaks , no smoking and no loss of power at all. Where did it go all of a sudden. Is it possible they shorted it on the the fill on the last change (WalMart). I know I should have changed it myself or should have checked the level after the last change so don't blaze me to death. I have a life time warranty so it is going in to be checked when he gets back with it. A friend told me his dads 07 unlimited started using oil also. Anyone else heard of this happening.

·
Registered
9,914 Posts
:whistling: I've been hearing about it for over 4 years-

It happens to MAINLY 07, some 08 and some 09 JK/JKUs --

I know my '08-INTIMATELY and it's still at 100% ops

I think you may have missed some indications/checks/been short changed-etc

I can't offer anything except you should stay a little closer to your property-

Good luck

:dance::rofl: JIMBO

·
Registered
3,540 Posts
make sure you check it yourself given the flawless history....there was a big news deal a while back about some outfits 'short stroking' the dip stick to make it seem like you needed oil.....they'd sell you some....then a bit later down the road suddenly you're TOO full...which is another problem .....

·
Banned
764 Posts
Since brotherinlaw needs a jeep for long road trips, why don't you sell him yours (cash only, no way in hell do you finance him) and you can get a new one then he can worry about the oil, tires, tags, taxes, insurance, maintanece and so on, and you can worry about your owne!

·
Registered
1,754 Posts