Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have the BFG All terrain tires on my Jeep. I am a newbie to trail riding and do not have much experience. Is there something I should do to my tires to assist with traction on rocky (some loose, some not) trails? Deflate some? Something else?

Just looking for some advice before i hit the Colorado trails in a couple of weeks!

·
Registered
277 Posts
I have bfg ko2s (c rated 35s). Less for traction but for more comfort, i air down to 15-20psi. Then cruise along at right speed for my suspension to absorb the rocks (ie not too slow that i climb on every piece of pebble but not too fast that that i start floating over huge rocks), this combo helps me quite a bit.

Airing down also helps with preventing punctures and that rocky terrain is prime for that.

Have fun, was just there a week ago and mountains were awesome.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
15,148 Posts
I have the BFG All terrain tires on my Jeep. I am a newbie to trail riding and do not have much experience. Is there something I should do to my tires to assist with traction on rocky (some loose, some not) trails? Deflate some? Something else?

Just looking for some advice before i hit the Colorado trails in a couple of weeks!
Yes, air down to 15-18psi and have fun.

·
Administrator
12,503 Posts
Also look under your jeep and see what hangs down. Then as you pick your line in the rocks keep those lower hanging points in mind.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks guys! So if I stick around 20 psi, there is little risk to loosing a bead? As to clearance that is a good idea. I do have multiple skid pans installed as well.

·
No Whining now....
229 Posts
I air down my 37s to ~13 psi and have no issues with bead loss thus far. Others have gone down even lower on the trails. I was reminded to "protect your pumpkins". In other words, try not to drive the differentials into rocks.