Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Commercial Member
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, this soft top came with the jeep when I bought it, this is my first time busting it out. For the past 2 days I've tried getting it on 100%, and I know they can be a pita. I left it out in the 65-70 degree sun all day and have even gone so far as to use a heat gun while stretching it and it just won't go. I don't know what brand if not OEM, I can't find any markings.

If I put the front on first the back is about 2-3" from reaching tub.

If I put the rear on first the front header is about 2" from the proper seat.

I'm wondering if this is a top for a YJ or something, but I don't know how to tell. Any ideas?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
If I'm not misaken, that's a Bestop Supertop. I don't have that specific top, but I do have a Bestop soft top with Bestop hardware.

When you put the soft top on, you're supposed to get all the fabric attachment points connected and then tighten it with the metal frame. It looks to me that you've got the frame already rigid and you're fighting against it to get the fabric connected.

Does this instruction manual look like what you have?

http://www.bestop.com/images/installation_guides/54720.pdf

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
Undo everything. Put the latches in the front. But leave the latches un latched. Go to the back corners. Pull down on the back frame to give you some material to tuck the back in. Then go to the front and latch the latches. You are missing the door surrounds in the picture. You do have them right?

·
Commercial Member
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for all the info!

It is a TJ btw and I'm missing some items like the door surrounds, but I'm just testing the fit.

·
Registered
154 Posts