Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I have a 2010 Unlimited Islander with 60K. I like it a lot, but I know I'm about to enter a period of potential repairs and maintenance. I'm also jonesing for a sporty convertible for commuting that wouldn't require the work to go topless my Jeep does.

Here's what I'm thinking: I could trade in and pick up a one year old Mustang convertible and finance about $9k for $150/mth. and then lease a brand new Unlimited for, I'm guessing, $350/mth. The two would be just about $100 more/month, both in warranty, better commuting mileage with the Mustang, and lower overall mileage on each (I drive about twenty a year).

Thoughts? I'm not good at putting repair money aside, and having a convertible AND a Wrangler (for days with the kids) might be win/win.

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The Murano is gone and was way overpriced. But, yes, I only need it as a four-door SUV convertible.

My original thought was to buy a 2-seater convertible, then I would need a Wrangler, but with the Mustang I could always use a truck.

·
Registered
275 Posts
I am not a lease expert but I may be able to contribute a bit on this topic.

My disclaimer: I am currently in my first lease on a 2012 VW Passat that will expire in May. I have never considered leasing a Jeep so I am not familiar Jeep specific lease programs.

My thoughts:

-Negotiate the price first then lease payment. Negotiating a lease is not as straight forward a purchasing. Researching online is helpful.
-How much will you be required to pay upfront? You can put more down to reduce your lease payment but not sure if I would recommend that. I was required to put down $2,000. Sometimes offers pop up that do require money down.