Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the 4x4 world. Always been on ATVs, first time w a jeep.

Looking for some suggestions, what are some "must haves" that you would recommend in an emergency kit? Like what tools are essential.. Just looking to build up a tool kit to always keep in the jeep in case something goes wrong.

Thanks for your suggestions!

·
Registered
3,428 Posts
Best thing for an emergency kit: Another Jeep to pull you out when you get stuck. :D

Beyond that, I carry a couple of bags in the Jeep with everything I need.

A fire extinguisher and first aid kit are basically mandatory in my book.

A couple of recovery straps are good to have. Get the real recovery straps without the hooks. Don't use tow straps with the hooks. Never use a chain. Ever.

I carry a basic tool kit with the following: Metric and SAE wrenches in the common sizes. Screwdrivers of various sizes. A set of Torx drivers and allen wrenches (again in metric and SAE). A good socket set with both metric and SAE. If you have anything that needs a specialty tool like a spindle nut socket (you probably don't need that on a modern Jeep) throw that in the bag. Of course, a roll of duct tape and a can of WD-40 are essential.

I usually carry spare fluids. Oil, (pre-mixed) coolant, gear oil, ATF.

A good off road jack like a Hi-Lift or similar is always good to have along.

When winter hits and I have to deal with snow I'll throw a sleeping bag and a shovel in the back just in case.

If you're going out of town, it's never a bad idea to take a couple of meals worth of food with you just in case something happens and you're stuck for a while.

Wilderness trips require a survival pack tailored to the area you're going.

A CB radio (or Ham if you have a licence) is a good tool to have along when you're out of cell phone range.