Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to off-road tires, my spirited driving would always wear out sports car tires so often this was never an issue :)
I'm planning a long road trip, the tire tread looks like it has a bit of life left, but just curious if these cracks (2 photos below) are a safety issue on the highway, not so worried about off-road trails but don't want a blowout at 80+. The DOT code ends in 1916 so they'll be 5 years old in May. Thanks!

·
Premium Member
9,041 Posts
Pictures did not come thru.

Reactions: Morris4x4Center

·
Premium Member
9,041 Posts
Yep, time for new tires. I had tires look like that and my wife ripped both front tires off the rim in a parking lot. I would not chance it.

·
RETIRED MODERATOR
75,232 Posts
They need to be replaced. Here in Arizona, because of the heat, four year max. Ones life is worth more, than the price of tires.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I'm young and new to tires. Needed to see this. Handed down the tires + wheels from families old jeep. Will need to make sure this isn't an issue. Thanks for this everyone.

·
Registered
591 Posts
Holy Cow! Are you in Arizona or Death Valley or something? I have 10 year old tires in my shed that have no cracks at all.

·
Grumpy Old Guy
3,443 Posts
Looks like salt and heat combo. Not good.

·
Registered
80 Posts
I pickup a 2014 Sahara about 3 months ago, the tires looked good, however there was some uneven ware on the front tires outside edges and they where 7 years old. This put some doubt in my mind about the overall condition of the tires. Just to be on the safe side I replaced them including the spare. The jeep rides better, handles better, and the tires are quieter. As it is said about tires, "When in doubt, change them out".

·
Registered
2017 JKR...
1,709 Posts