Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Excuse my ignorance, newbie here.....

Purchasing my first Jeep tomorrow. Ready to dive in head first to the Jeep world! Picking up a 98 TJ that needs new tires. It currently has 32 11.50 R15 LT on it. The price for a new set of these tires is out of my current budget. Need something cheaper till I can put a nice set on.

Question is, what other sizes tires can I run on 15" wheels? It will be my daily driver with very light off roading (dirt roads). Jeep has 3" body lift.

Any advice?

·
Registered
581 Posts
Welcome! Many size tires can fit 15" wheels like 31's and 35's. A 3" body lift is a very bad choice in lift because it separates the body too far from the frame. Many suggest the highest body lift to be 1.25".

If you plan to keep the 3" BL (highly not recommended) 32" tires tires is the way to go. Anything smaller also works. I'd suggest to immediately take off the body lift and put on some 31's which is about the biggest you can go with no lift.

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
You can run most anything made for a 15" wheel. I wouldn't go any smaller than 235/75 15. The smaller the tires get the goofier it will look. Are the tires on it that bad?

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for info guys. The tires aren't showing steel, but they need replacing now.

As said before, new to this. What is bad abt the 3" body lift? I understand it's far from frame, but what issues can this cause. Previous owner had for 9 years and has had no issues.....maybe something in particular I need to check out before buying?

·
Registered
581 Posts
Just check this thread and Jerry explains why... http://www.wranglerforum.com/f210/adding-body-lift-666785.html