Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8,397 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Where are the best anchor points on a TJ to strap it down on a flat bed trailer? Initially I was thinking I was going to chain (with binder) around the rear axle, but then realized the brake line runs along the top of it...didn't want to risk crushing it.

·
Hardcore Jeeper
3,320 Posts
The frame is always the best place to tie down to. If you just do the axels, think of all the body roll that will occur any time you turn or hit a bump.

They make special hooks that go into holes on the frame for towing. Thats what wreckers typically use.

·
Knows a couple things...
49,417 Posts
There is a real art to properly securing a vehicle to a flatbed trailer so be careful how you do it. I'm not an expert on it but guys here like Blaine from Black Magic Brakes who flat-trailer their Jeeps around can help you out.

·
Commercial MemberX
8,641 Posts
After 190K miles of bumper hitch pulling I'd like to think I am as well versed as anyone to tell you how not to do it lol. I never hook to the frame because its nearly impossible to get all the suspension compression out of it and if you hit a hard bump and the rig moves down, there is a great chance it could come unhooked. I always tie to the axles and cross the back ones to keep it from sliding sideways. Anymore I use J-hooks but axle straps will work just as well. In a case of my truggy which is really really soft I also put one strap from the tow points on the frame as well to keep it from rolling side to side...on a street legal driving jeep, this will never be an issue.

·
Registered
32 Posts
i went with "T" hooks to the frame slots but i think i would rather go with a wide strap over each wheel like blane does.

i like how his way works if a strap or two comes loose and each strap doesnt depend on anothers tightness...