Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings Everyone,
I'm new to the Wrangler lifestyle, but have been a WWII Jeep lover and restorer for many years, currently owning a 1944 Ford GPW dedicated to my father's WWII unit, the 535th Anti Aircraft Artillery-Automatic Weapons Battalion, Utah Beach, 6 June 1944 first tide.

A few months back I bought a 1997 TJ SE for a little more comfort on those long trips. The Jeep ran so-so, but it did have a bunch of issues, most of which I was able to solve by reading the posts on this forum.

As a "Thank You" for access to all of this free info, I thought I would post my problems and solutions for others to consider.

Purchased in August 2012, the jeep ran good and rough at various times, it took 2, 3, and sometimes 4 turns of the key to get it to fire. Some sputtering, with varying gas mileage from good to "oh crap where did it all go" It did thow a code or two, all within the oxygen areas (sorry, can't recall the numbers). Has/had 187K+ miles on it.

The pre-cat sensor had been cross-threaded and was leaking. Replaced, but still ran rough.

Replaced the Idle Air Control sensor, ran a little better.

Cleaned throttle body, replaced the throttle postition sensor and found the O ring was shot, cleaned and replaced O rings for the injectors. Ran a little better than before.

Found a vacuum hose hanging by the right front fender..mystery hose..then I found the hidden black box inside the fender, under the battery tray. Clipped the cracked hose back a little and fit it back onto the box. Ran Even Better-

Discovered another leak at the underside of the intake manifold...okay, a few bolts had worked out and fell off, causing a vac leak. Ran really good after the fix.

Fire Issue: