Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So im new to jeeps and have been researching for a while and i am ready to buy one. Im looking around for a tj (any year) with the coveted 4.0 and around 150k miles, but in my area what im looking for doesnt come cheaper than 10k. Are there any tips or tricks to finding one cheaper (around the 8k mark) im in Tennessee. Any advice would be greatly appreciated :happyyes:

·
Registered
16 Posts
Patience is a virtue. Or so they say. I just bought my TJ (03 4.0 5 speed with 80k miles) for $7500 with a little negotiating. Take your time, and the right one will come along.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
78 Posts
thanks for the quick reply, and ive got to say id be thrilled to find that. ill keep patient... for now
Use searchtempest.com and search in as large a radius as you're willing to travel for your Jeep. I searched for 6 months and looked at so many ads it made me sick. I did learn the market and knew a good deal when I saw it.

We ended up traveling 16 hours (flew down) and drove our LJR back. Worth every minute and dime we spent! Blue LJ, Rubi, BONE stock, 48k miles, 6spd.

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
Main thing is not to be in a hurry. An impulse buy will cost you. Personally, I would have a problem paying $10k or more for any tj. If it was low miles and quality mods, maybe. You have to be careful with the jeeps, they have age and folks have hacked the heck out of the over the years. Make sure you buy quality.

I had an 04 TJ that after buying, found out it had the cheapest lift available. Thing rode like a sherman tank. Caveat Emptor!

·
Premium Member
761 Posts