Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a 00 TJ with the 2.5. It has a six inch skyjacker and 35x12.50s. I mud bog it pretty regularly but a friend of mine brought to my attention the other day that I should probably stop because the engine isn't strong enough to deal with the abuse. Anyone second this or does anyone do the same thing with the same engine and not have problems? I've only had it a few months so I'm new to the jeep world

·
Registered
435 Posts
My guess is that it has been regeared. I have a 2.5 with 31.50 and haven't regeared it yet and it is real gutless. I could imagine if I had 35s on it. I don't see it doing any damage to the motor unless you are over reving it or something like that to try and get the power to the ground. I would think it would be harder on the rest of the drive train.

·
Registered
3,547 Posts
Did you upgrade or replace the D35 rear?

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I never over rev. But it's always in four low off road I can tell the rear has been tapped into but the guy I bought it from didn't mention gears. I haven't got stuck yet or felt any strain and this is also my daily driver. It's a little slow but overall drives like anything else

·
Knows a couple things...
49,630 Posts
You can't regear the 2.5L SE TJ low enough for 35" tires and its rear Dana 35c isn't strong enough for 35" tires. That rear Dana 35c axle, specifically one of its axle shafts, is living on borrowed time with that big of a tire. I'd regear to 4.88 and trade those 35" tires for some 33's which some Jeeper would jump at. The 2.5L SE TJ performs well with 33" tires once its axles are regeared to 4.88. :)

·
Registered
1,044 Posts