Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,044 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so I have a navy blue 97. here in butte Montana im a member of the 15/90 search and rescue organization. our trademark uniforms are a navy blue shirt/sweat shirt with a red hat and black pants. we do many community service acts around town everything from food drives to parade marshaling and security. I was thinking it would be funny to dye or paint my old soft top red to use for these events. any suggestions?

·
Registered
176 Posts
I'm assuming you want it to be permanent....I know lots of guys on here like Krylon Fusion paints...don't know how well that will work on fiberglass....and since I am a custom painter by trade, I would lean more towards automotive paints myself....

You'll need to prep your top for primer first (I ALWAYS prime no matter what). You can use a grey scuff pad and then a degreaser before priming. Obviously everything will need to be masked off...you can get the 3m green masking tape at most parts stores....

Then look for a suitable red for your project. You need to make sure your environment is suitable for painting - ie, airflow, clean, right temp, etc...

I think Duplicolor has alot of good options as far as colors go and you can get almost anywhere....

Hope that helps as a start at least....

·
Registered
176 Posts
Also, since you want to use red....I would opt for a base/clear system. You'll want to use a clearcoat that has UV protection to help slow down the fade process....you don't want your red top looking pink...

You may find a single stage red that has UV protection in it...but I'm honestly not familiar with single stage anything....

·
Registered
3,513 Posts
You need a fabric paint. I would go light grey or white first, then red on top.

·
Registered
176 Posts