Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok 2015JK 6 speed manual. I think I know, but I want to ask anyway.

Looks like I need 80W-90 gear oil for the front and rear axel. Now I have the trac-loc rear end. Traction control. Does that need the friction modifier? Can't seem to find a no brainer answer.

Also the transmission. Is it only 2 quarts? That is what It looks like the right answer is.

I have only been a Jeep owner for 2 months now so I am still learning about them. Please be patient. lol Until I bought it this jeep has sat most of its life. It only had 301 miles on it when I got it. Now 1900.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,474 Posts
From the manual:
226 RBI (Model 44)​
– We recommend you use MOPAR Gear & Axle Lubricant (SAE

80W-90) (API GL-5) or equivalent. For trailer towing, use MOPAR Synthetic Gear &​
Axle Lubricant (SAE 75W-140). Models equipped with Trac-Lok require an additive.

Some gear oils already have the additive in it, I believe they are marked as Limited Slip gear oil.

Can't help with the trans fluid though.

A 1900 mile 2015? DAMN!

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah I caught a pretty good deal. An old couple bought it. Put just over 200 miles on it and it was too rough for them. Dropped it off at the dealership and left it until the new car they ordered arrived. Still has the new car smell. lol

Thanks. That's what I thought, but I am just being over cautious on what I do since I read on here about the issues some people have with warranty work. I am one to do all the work myself if possible.

I have also emailed the Dealership so I have written documentation that they told me to use XXXX.

·
Registered
6,384 Posts
Wow. They did not know what they really had. Too rough, geez. I think my 2015 Sahara is the best road vehicle I have ever owned. What did they want a marshmallow?