Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My TJ looked like this when I bought it from the PO a year ago. He told me he had it at the beach a lot. I want to treat this and return it to black. I am not good at spray paint/treatment stuff. Better at using a brush so asking if something like monstaliner or rhinoliner, etc would be a good choice.

Attachments

·
Registered
182 Posts
POR-15. You can paint right over rust with the stuff and its basically bullet proof. Its a 3 step process if I remember correctly but from what Ive heard its well worth it and lasts for a very long time.

·
Registered
1,730 Posts
POR-15. You can paint right over rust with the stuff and its basically bullet proof. Its a 3 step process if I remember correctly but from what Ive heard its well worth it and lasts for a very long time.
+1

I used POR15 on my frame last summer. Mine was in great condition with a little rust here and there and the POR15 made it look new again. Hard as nails, brushes on and a little goes a long way. You wash/degrease, let dry then brush it on.

·
Registered
272 Posts
This is my plan too. Been researching past week.
Do people Por-15 more parts underneath than just the frame? What dictates if you can or should paint it?
Seems like you paint right over existing nuts/ bolts? Does that create a problem later when they need to be removed?

·
Registered
955 Posts
This is my plan too. Been researching past week.
Do people Por-15 more parts underneath than just the frame? What dictates if you can or should paint it?
Seems like you paint right over existing nuts/ bolts? Does that create a problem later when they need to be removed?