Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been thinking of going from the stock BFG 32’1” tires to 35” and in my reading on the forums I keep running into often repeated information that 1lb of unsprung weight is equal to 10lbs of sprung weight. Using that notion, if my new wheels and tires add 10lbs of weight at each corner, that would be a total of 40lbs of added unsprung weight which would equate to the equivalent of carrying 2 substantial people around all the time weighing in at 400lbs. This formula crops up all the time, is repeated as gospel as it gets into more and more threads and seems to me to be simplistic and completely bogus.

My notes from reading about this stuff are below (disclaimer - I am not an engineer – I would be interested to hear from anyone who is!). They are a bit long winded – but I do think the 1lb : 10lb rule needs some serious debunking.

As a rule, lighter wheels will allow the suspension to respond more quickly to the terrain. In street driving they will hop less, allow the suspension to react more quickly and maintain contact with the road more effectively. Heavier wheels will bounce more and for longer over bumps, potentially impacting ride quality.