Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Super Moderator
6,793 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We have a JKU Back Country and we are looking to move up to 35 or 37 inch tires. To do that, I want to go to either 4.88 or 5.13 gears. The 4.88's would be for 35's, and the 5.13's would be if we went to 37's. I originally was thinking 35's, but you know how that goes. From what I hear, 4.88's / 35's are at the limit of what you can run in a Dana 30, perhaps slightly over the limit, and 5.13's / 37's are over the limit. Now, I am OK with upgrading the axle, but once I drop that much I do tend to think "in for a penny, in for a pound". Hence the considering 37's.
I am not a mechanic, but I am mechanically inclined and have no aversion to "basic" mechanical work. I think I can do most anything except gearing, I would take it to someone for that (I would love to try it, but would need a second set of axles to try it on).
The first question is what is the best value on upgrading the front axle. I am considering a Currie Rockjock 44, and I have also looked at G2. It looks like either can be had for the low to mid $4,000's. That is acceptable coin to me, but as I said if I am spending that much I do tend to feel that I should get 37's out of it.
Curious, when I build a Rockjock on Northridge's site it shows two different ball joint sets, one set of 4 Dynatrac ball joints and the other 2 sets of Synergy ball joints. I assume it is an either / or deal, but Northridge will let you pick both. I would assume these are the ball joints that attach the knuckles to the C's.

Another aspect, relating to my choice of gear ratio's, is that this is;
A) Not a daily driver but a weekend warrior
B) Based on a Sahara and as such it does not have the 4:1 transfer case
C) A manual transmission