Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, my name is Carl. I currently own a TJ, so this is my first time posting in the JK section.

Long story short, my wife and I are wanting a bigger jeep with more space for our kids. I found a 2008 Rubicon Unlimited, 6 speed, with 170000 miles. I can get the jeep for $15k.

The jeep had some work done at a shop last year: new axle seals, new water pump, new exhaust manifolds, and some wiring issues fixed (see receipts). She claims that the hard top has never been off the jeep.

Is this a good deal in your opinions? The jeep is located about 2 hours away, so I don't want to waste a trip if not. I also don't want my first JKU experience to be a bad one.

Thank you all for your help.

·
Registered
608 Posts
It looks well taken care of, she may get it. That said, that's a lot of $$ for a vehicle with 170K. Some of the older 3.8s burn oil, I don't think you want to be saddled with buying a motor, tranny, fuel lines, etc on a 10 yr old vehicle. I'd spend a bit more and look for a 2012 with the newer engine, transmission, and interior.

·
Registered
291 Posts
That is a lot of miles. I agree with 5JKs. The 2012 and up is going to get you the 3.6 Pentastar, which is a much better engine, delivering approximately 60 more horses as well. You may have to pay into the $20Ks for a JKU later model but the mileage should be much more friendly.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the comments. I should add that I'm paying cash and my budget is in the mid teens. Also, we take our jeep out quite a bit. As much as I'd like to have a new 2012-2017 Jeep, I don't want to spend 20-30k on a jeep that will make me cringe at the sound of branches and things scratching up the sides. If that makes sense.

·
Registered
83 Posts