Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I've been researching for almost 4 months now and still can't seem to come to any conclusion about whether or not to get a 50" LED light bar or the Rugged Ridge Light Bar with HID lights (haven't chosen which yet.) Here are things I'm considering:

Both set ups are comparable in price
The LED light bar will be easier to install than (5) HID lights & RR light bar
LED seems to be more efficient with less drain on the alternator
I like the LOOK better of HID lights, but LED light bars look cool as well
Garage/overhead clearance may be less of an issue with LED light bar than 5 7" lights (I have a 4" lift and 35" tires)
I already have 2 7" Pro Comp Halogen lights installed on the bumper, HID light bar would match better with this
I am planning on replacing the headlights with LED, JW Speaker or Truck Lite, and think the LED light bar would match better

Below are similar looking images to what I would be mirroring:
HID set up: https://www.quadratec.com/Assets/Images/124478/124478-add4-lg.jpg
LED Light Bar set up: http://lghttp.16990.nexcesscdn.net/...gid-15031-50-inch-led-light-bar-installed.jpg

Is there any reason you have gone towards an LED light bar vs an HID or vice versa? All input would be welcome!

·
Registered
5,702 Posts
The durability of LED will be much higher than HID and keep the overall height of your Jeep about the same. They both can put up a lot light but the beam pattern can differ significantly.

Since it's obviously for off road purposes, I think the LED bar is more practical.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·