Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'mabout to install a rusty's 2in suspension lift. I keep reading posts about vibes and death wobble, it makes me kind of nervous. Exactly what are vibes? (that way i'll know if i have them) Sorry if this gets asked alot, i'm new to jeeps. thanks

·
Registered
5,941 Posts
do you have the 4.0L or a 4cyl? rear D35 or D44? 5 or 6 speed manual or 3 or 4 speed auto tranny?

if the driveshaft angle become stoo big you´ll get driveshaft vibes. if you have some vibe dropping the transfer case skidplate will help.

i had to drop the TC plate about 1/4" with some washers and then the vibes were gone.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
2.5, dana 35, 5speed.

Does this vibrate the whole jeep? Is it dangerous or just annoying? thanks

·
Registered
5,941 Posts
not the whole jeep. you only hear a vibrating sound from the driveshaft. that´s all.

with a short D35 and the shotr 4cyl and manual tranny you shouldn´t get vibes with only 2" lift. a friend has such a tj with 3" lift and he still didn´t need to drop the TC.

·
delicate %$^&*@ flower
14,751 Posts
I lived with vibes for a while. They aren't dangerous, they just shorten the life of your driveshaft and are annoying as hell.

I ended up with a MML and a slight t-case drop. Vibes are gone.

·
Registered
857 Posts
I've learned every damn TJ is different in how a lift affects it:confused: . I lifted my 98 TJ (D35/Auto) and got no vibes or DW.

Just put same lift on my 04 TJ (D44/5spMT) and seem to avoided the vibes but got some nasty DW that an alignment didn't fix at all. Still haven't figured that one out:mad:!

·
Registered
150 Posts
I've learned every damn TJ is different in how a lift affects it:confused: . I lifted my 98 TJ (D35/Auto) and got no vibes or DW.