Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday morning my volt meter spiked from normal to 19 for about a minute or so, then went back to normal. But when it went bavk to normal my gas gage went from reading half a tank to below the E. I did replace my fuel pump about a month ago. I tried disconnecting my battery to restart it but still nothing. It still reads below the E. Im not good with electrical issues at all. Any thoughts on what could have caused this?

·
Registered
672 Posts
I think you will mostly be be told to check connections and grounds first. It would be helpful to know what year your Jeep is and what motor is in it. Also whether you have been doing any work around the dash like new speakers, etc.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Connections are all fine, no tears or any sign of damage. Its a 98 wrangler 4.0L I have not done any type of work under the dash or speakers.

·
Registered
672 Posts
The first thing I would do is remove the speaker grill from the front left side of the dash. You should find 4 ground wires near the bottom speaker screw. I think they are two pairs of two. Remove the screw holding them down and clean all the oxidation off of them and reattach.

I had a similar problem about 6 months ago and that fixed it. I think Big Sarge hooked me up on that one. Can you do the cluster check on the 98.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obbOb_CpZNY

I should help you rule out a faulty fuel gauge.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The first thing I would do is remove the speaker grill from the front left side of the dash. You should find 4 ground wires near the bottom speaker screw. I think they are two pairs of two. Remove the screw holding them down and clean all the oxidation off of them and reattach.

I had a similar problem about 6 months ago and that fixed it. I think Big Sarge hooked me up on that one. Can you do the cluster check on the 98.