Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,040 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2 Door Wrangler. I don't plan on building it into a monster. It is my DD and off road adventure rig. I will probably be single vehicle wheeling it most of the time-Backcountry Discovery Route type of stuff. I have never winched before so I'm new to what I will need. Seems like the M8000 is pretty popular for 2 Doors, made in the USA (right down the road from me) and looks to have a pretty good reputation.

Is 8000lb enough? I honestly have no idea? I am going with wire rope since I can see me dragging it across the ground or otherwise making newbie mistakes that from what I have read can cause premature wear on a synthetic rope.

Thanks!
DAVE

·
Registered
219 Posts
I have a 2 Door Wrangler. I don't plan on building it into a monster. It is my DD and off road adventure rig. I will probably be single vehicle wheeling it most of the time-Backcountry Discovery Route type of stuff. I have never winched before so I'm new to what I will need. Seems like the M8000 is pretty popular for 2 Doors, made in the USA (right down the road from me) and looks to have a pretty good reputation.

Is 8000lb enough? I honestly have no idea? I am going with wire rope since I can see me dragging it across the ground or otherwise making newbie mistakes that from what I have read can cause premature wear on a synthetic rope.

Thanks!
DAVE
8,000lb is plenty, especially if you utilize a quality snatch block.

Steel vs Synth is a common debate you'll come across.