Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of January's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I’m new to the Jeep life
I Recently purchased an 08 Jk 6 speed
When it gets warmed up is makes this noise in neutral and then the noise will stop when the clutch is pressed in.
I already checked my fluids and they are all good and freshly flushed and filled.
Anybody has any opinions or experience on it? Taking it in tomorrow to the dealership,but I don’t want to be uneducated on the possibilities and get overpriced. Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2006 TJ Rubicon, 4.0, automatic
1,129 Posts
If I’m not mistaken that would be the throw out bearing. I know someone else will likely chime in that has more experience in repairing a manual trans.

·
Premium Member
1,198 Posts
How long have you had it?

Reactions: 08JKRedddd

·
Premium Member
1,198 Posts
They knew about that issue when they sold it. Is my guess.

that’s a lot in labor costs to fix. Could have been a price negotiation tool.

…if it was me I would replace the entire clutch assembly and the rear main seal.

don’t want to go in there again.

how many miles on it?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
They knew about that issue when they sold it. Is my guess.

that’s a lot in labor costs to fix. Could have been a price negotiation tool.

…if it was me I would replace the entire clutch assembly and the rear main seal.

don’t want to go in there again.

how many miles on it?