Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Jeeper
5,096 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been practicing with my new welder and trying to teach myself to weld.Heres one of the projects Im doing.I already fixed my frame & its doing good.I dont do the most impressive welds but they will do.
I do seem to get some welds that are a bit porus,not sure what thats about

·
Jeeper
5,096 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

·
Registered
44 Posts
i'm far from an expert (tried to teach myself as well) ... it looks like you have a few issues. surface isn't clean and voltage too low (no penetration). I'd like to hear some of the more experienced welders comments on it.

·
Registered
7 Posts
I have a lot of experience welding with a mig. Looks like the voltage is too low/ feed rate too low. And try to create a spiraling circular motion so your weld puddles flat and penetrates. Also I can't tell but it looks like you are welding over a painted surface if you are I'd strongly suggest using acetone to remove the paint to create a solid weld. But also try to coat the steel asap either with enamel paint or greese it till you can powder coat the if not the weld will quickly begin to rust.

·
Registered
197 Posts
Were you welding it in place? If so, practice with the part/material laying on a table/ground so that you are above the weld rather than trying to weld overhead. It is easier to learn that way. +1 what Kappy117 said.

·
Super Moderator
2,852 Posts
Please provide more info on your welding setup. Wire and diameter? Gas? Welder and settings used? Don't count on those welds. They are cold, porus, and severely lack penetration.

·
Jeeper
5,096 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks for the input.
Its a Hobart Handler 190
Wire is .030,solid sore
Gas set at 23
Settings-speed 60 & Voltage is at a 5