Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
I'm pretty new to TJ's but here are a few that really tick me off.........

Cheap doors......they split the sheetmetal and the strap pin bends easy.

Wiring......mopar used under gauged wire thru out the vehicle. I discovered the cig lighter circuit will burn up before the factory fuse will blow(spotlight)

Transmission.....I have the NV3550 and it is the worst manual transmission I have EVER had. The feel is like a sloppy noodle and the syncros are almost ruined at 160k miles. I owned a 97 2.5/5 speed and a 97 4.0/5 speed with NO trans issues whatsoever.

To be fair the transmisson could be subjective as I have no idea how abused it was before.

·
Registered
8,402 Posts
Even with those things...still more awesome than a brand new Prius! :thumb:

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
ok well the doors were never meant to do anything anyways. It even says so on the warning at the top that talks about how my softtop will not save me. It's a very basic vehicle designed to get shit done not be a comfortable safety car. Tranny I've never had an issue and hear good things about it. Wiring, I can't really say. I do think that jeep uses this "rugged basic machine" idea to get away with quality stuff. But I'm happy with what I got in a TJ.

·
Registered
203 Posts
The 42rle transmission has a plastic piece that holds the linkage to the actual gear shifter on the tranny. That little pos broke off without warning and left me confused as hell on why I couldn't go I gear. I fixed it with zip ties at first and then did a little hardware store engineering. All fixed, no problems now, but it seems there could have been a better way from the factory.

Personally the glove box, center console, and the locks for those feel cheap too.

All things aside I still love my jeep!

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·