Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm feeling like a true bone head here. I've installed a Teraflex 3" suspension lift. It came with a t-case drop kit. I understand that it's supposed to help with drive line angles and vibes. But how is lowering the skid plate helping with these issues? Since I've had the lift I've ran without the skid..... This is my first project. Any help or smack upside the head is much appreciated.

·
Mostly old school..!
12,149 Posts
I'm feeling like a true bone head here. I've installed a Teraflex 3" suspension lift. It came with a t-case drop kit. I understand that it's supposed to help with drive line angles and vibes. But how is lowering the skid plate helping with these issues? Since I've had the lift I've ran without the skid..... This is my first project. Any help or smack upside the head is much appreciated.
Hoping you mean you have ran without the skid drop, and not without the skid.

If you don't have drive line vibrations without the t-case drop, don't install it.

The t-case drop kit simply lessens the angle that the drive shaft works at.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
A T-case drop is the least desirable and cheapest way to maintain (hopefully) acceptable drive shaft/drive line angles to prevent binding and vibration (and failure). Kind of a low end solution that also negates partially the reason for lifting the Jeep since it reduces ground clearance to the T-case support.

The better way, one of the better ways, is to use adjustable control arms, a CV drive shaft and a SYE (unless it is a Rubicon).

J

·
Premium Member
2,866 Posts