Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some quick history. I went to the Jeep dealer today where I bought my Rubicon to ask about labor to install the Mopar 2" lift. After much research I think this is the one I want. Anyway, I also asked about needing spacers after the lift is installed and once I go to bigger tires. He was very much against spacers and said I should get both new wheels and tires when I decide to upgrade. I mentioned many folks on this forum used spacers and he said he has seen cases of them cracking and even the wheel coming off due to spacer failure. So I'm an engineer (electrical, not mechanical) but knew that didn't sound quite right. He suggested new wheels with a different offset versus installing spacers. I like the idea of spacers because I want to keep my original Rubicon wheels. I like them. So my question after all that is does his story about the spacers ring true? Didn't sound right to me but curious since I know I didn't don't know everything. Thanks.

·
Registered
254 Posts
I have run Rough Country 1.5 inch spacers on my jku for over 20k miles. No issues with them. Yes, buying wheels is a better idea but there isn't anything wrong with running the spacers. Just don't use the kind that just slide over the lug nuts. Get hub centric spacers that bolt to the lug studs.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
This seems to be a hot subject here. Some say spacers suck. Some say they are ok. I have a set for when I get my 37's since 4.5 backspace seems to not be enough with 13.50 tires. I probably won't give a second thought on having them on

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
RETIRED MODERATOR
51,653 Posts
spidertrax wheel spacers | eBay

^^^These are quality Spacers. If you install them properly, then you should not have a problem.