Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all! Well we finally did it. My wife has wanted a Jeep for a while now and I have wanted to find her one for some time but can’t afford to buy one really nice plus I wanted to find one that could really work on together. So professionally I am a customer car builder specializing in metal fabrication and upholstery. Unprofessionally I know nothing about building a Jeep so I’m honestly really excited about this mainly because it’s something new. So I guess then into the details. I was lucky enough to be scrolling through fb marketplace just before leaving to go to camp with our youth group kids and came across a 94 YJ that I was able to pick up for $700 the usual rusted out frame (and I mean bad!!!) but I was able to find another frame that still rusty but repairable. And then we began to talk and plan what we wanted to do with this thing. The Jeep is a 2.5 automatic. When I started talking to the engine builders at work everything came back with $1000 price range for engines and that was hard to swallow so I started looking around for other options and came across a 1996 grand Cherokee with a 5.2l automatic. So begins the build. So plans are to swap in the 5.2l, the automatic, the transfer case and the front and rear axles. Then because I have off-roaded a leaf spring truck before I will also be steeling the coils from the grand Cherokee which came with a wonderful 6” lift already and I’ll be building a custom 4 link suspension front and rear to give her a much better ride.

Attachments

·
Registered
51 Posts
And so it begins!