Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am pretty new to the Jeep world. I bought a 2002 TJ about a year and a half ago and have slowly done some mods. I'm adding windshield mounted lights and got the brackets on today. I'm wondering where to route the wires. I looked on this forum at Jeeps with the lights, but since everyone does such a great job of tucking in the wires, I can't see how it's done. It looks like I could run the wires in the door jamb or drill a hole in the cowl and put in a grommet. Any tips from long time Jeepers would be appreciated.

·
Registered
261 Posts
Definitely don't want to drill any unnecessary holes. I have 2 KC 100 watt spot lights and I just ran the wires under the cowel panel and then drilled a small hole through the firewall into the area under the cowel panel to be able to run the wires into the engine bay and to the battery.

·
Yipeee Kay Ayyy
2,839 Posts
I went the easiest (laziest?) route and ran the wires through the door opening - then down behind the dash.
I have wire connectors just inside the door so the lights can be easily disconnected - this has been very useful when the lights get busted off on the trail.

·
Registered
62 Posts
I also have just ran the wires through the door opening. If you do it right it can be a very clean setup and still be weatherproof.

·
Registered
1,931 Posts
Some good pictures would sure help. I too will be adding some lights soon!!!!

·
Vendor
6,014 Posts