Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I need some help choosing winter tires, I have never bought tires before and I have been Googling the topic for a couple months, and the Blizzacks seem to be rated very well. However the Goodyear guy tells me his are even better.

The choices in my area are the following:

1. Goodyear 115s BSW Ultra Grip Ice WRT 265/70R17
2. P255/75R17 BST Blizzack DM-V1 113R BW
3. Firestone Winterforce LT 111/108R 6-C LT255/75R17

I live in Saskatchewan Canada, where there is salt on the roads, and the temps go to -40C/F. The majority of my driving will be around town, and on the highway. However the there will be a few times a month where I would like to be able to go down an old fire road and pull off into the ditch with 2-3 feet of snow, and get back out again. Will these tires let me do this, or are they highway only?

I will not be on lake ice, or blazing my own trail through the forest...but again there will be times, where I'm the first guy on a dirt/gravel road.

Which options would you experts pick?

·
Registered
508 Posts
You can't go wrong with either the Firestone or Bridgestone. I have run both in the winter and left them on all summer. They are great in snow, ice, and mud. Have never run the Goodyear Ultra Grip though.

·
Registered
103 Posts
I've had experience with the Blizzak and Winterforce. The Blizzaks are less noisy and will handle better in light snow and wet conditions, but the Winterforce are incredible in deep snow. I would sacrifice a little comfort and handling for better snow traction, so I would pick the Winterforce

·
Registered
77 Posts