Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Firstly, I want to say thank you to everyone who contributes to this forum. It has helped me a lot over the years to solve problems (this is a new account, but I am not a new user) and to fix things that I never would've been able to without you guys and gals.

Also, apologies in advance for the long read, but I want to give the backstory. Plus, what I'm about to tell you might actually come out quite comical for those of you who know how to take care of a vehicle...

So here is the situation:​

I just got out of college about a year ago and have been driving my 4 cyl 1997 TJ since about sophomore year of high school. It currently has 135,000 miles and is obviously paid off. Since I have been a student all these years, I haven't really had the time to invest in learning about my engine, learning to fix things, etc (but at least I know quadratic formula and environmental physics....because THAT'S super helpful in life). Basically, with the exception of oil, I never fixed or changed out anything until it broke. Yea, I was that guy.

Now I have a "big boy" job though and am willing to put some money and time into my jeep and learning more about it, and not to mention that I actually like working with my hands. I'm afraid that it might be too far gone though (my own fault) and by the time I put the money back into it, I could've put a pretty down payment on a newer jeep.

Here's an example: