Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I'm new to the Wrangler world (but I used to have a Cherokee) and I've got a question.

I'd love to know if anyone more knowledgeable about Jeeps would make the deal that I have been presented with.

I have a motorcycle that I wanted to sell or trade in order to get a Wrangler. I priced the bike at $5800 and a friend of a friend said he has a Wrangler that he might want to trade. I'd be trading the bike straight up and using the Wrangler as my daily driver so I'm not looking to get into something that will require immediate work.

The Jeep offered for trade is as follows:
1999 Wrangler Sahara
Black with Tan hardtop
5 speed
A/C (new compressor)

Jeep has 300k on it and supposedly doesn't leak or use any oil. This is the current owners description when I asked about anything being rebuilt:

"The engine/clutch/Transfer case/ front differential have never been touched. Only serviced and inspected. A dealer put the wrong oil in rear end and I had to replace it did axles as well. Power steering pump was replaced and I recently install a new set of headers with bellow style pipe that avoids cracking. I have a new A/C unit to replace original due to electric clutch had become intermittent. You can check it out but engine uses no oil and the clutch pack flywheel is within tolerance. Never been off road but I do run 4x4 on occasion to keep lubed. Has nice amped stereo cd with 10's behind rear seat. Black with tan HT the green and tan Sahara interior. I will still send a pic. Oh I forgot I serviced the front end and replaced steering box. Battery is high amp best made."

I haven't seen the Jeep yet but, going off the assumption that it is squeaky clean, would anyone with more Jeep experience "buy" a Wrangler with 300k miles on it?