Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
836 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to buy a wrangler.. I would like to hear downs and ups about them..

I was a mechanic by trade and have no problems fixing things but hate to put in the time, if I dont have to..

I am looking at getting an automatic, and understand 03 and up 6 cyl. comes in a 4 speed instead of a 3 speed in prior years.

This is going to be my only car and it has to be hard dors and top for the winter..

I would like to get a 2000 or 01 but feel the 3speed auto's gearing might not be good on gas..

I always wanted one sind my friend had on in highschool.. I am now 27...

Newbie here help is appreciated..

thanks..

·
Registered
576 Posts
Well, as I have owned a jeep, then a ram, then a jeep again, I barely notice the rough ride, however, they are no Cadillacs, that is for sure. Very noisy too, if you have a soft top. None of that bothers me much at all. As I haven't driven a stock jeep in years, nor have I ever driven one with a hard top, I can't give you an opinion on that. To me, a less than smooth and quiet ride is all part of the awesome experience of owning a jeep, and what sets us jeepers apart from the rest of the auto community (or maybe its that we are all just downright insane). I say if you have wanted one for that long, go for it, you can't beat driving a jeep.

·
Registered
836 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I actually drove my buds 92 wrangler.. it was not a hard top.. and it did have 33''s with a 4 inch lift.. I do not like the ride at all.. It was way too stiff for my taste.. I hope the tj with independent suspention instead of leaf springs would make a bit of a difference...

anyone went from leaf to independent?

·
Registered
942 Posts