Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the Jeep world and realize splicing wires and drilling holes in dashes will become common place but for now, it's a little scary. I've done my fair share of audio installations but never spliced directly into factory wiring. I am ready to install my XRC Gen2 rear bumper and I would like to hook up the LED backup/Aux lights. Has anyone done this yet and can help me understand how you hooked up the wiring? If I understand it right, if I use the yellow Aux wire the backup lights will work and I will still be able to use the switch if I want to have full lighting.

Any help with this would be appreciated as I am a newbie and messing with a 2015 that's still under warranty has me a little nervous. Smittybilt has some great products but their instructions leave something to be desired.

·
Registered
341 Posts
If it were me...I would not splice into the CANBUS system of the Jeep.

Products like the sPod were developed to have a standalone electrical system independent of the Jeep CANBUS.

I may be wrong...but the "flaming Jeep" situation may be caused by people who have messed with the factory wiring.

I home ran a pair of 12GA wires from each rear taillight housing....to my sPOD for rear lights.

Its alot of work pulling wiring for a system like this....but worth it just for the peace of mind in my opinion.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I gotta figure your warranty will be at risk as well if the dealer sees that you spliced into the CANBUS.