Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi folks as my name says im new to jeeps but not mechanical builds so i do have some abilities just not specific knowelage i need. i recently purchased a 1995 wrangler and its a high milage and needs alot of parts replaced eventually. heres my first question. if i want to replace the dana 35/30 with a set of strong front and rear ends where do i start? i know rearends are findable in junkyards ut im sure some are better than others. meaning front ends from certain trucks. which are closest to the width i need and such? also where do i find the proper brackets to weld onto the new rear ends to match the yj? sorry so may questions im just trying to narrow it down so i can find parts to rebuild dureing the winter here in iowa.
thanks randy

·
Registered
458 Posts
More info on your jeep and your overall goals would be helpful. Auto or manual? Expected tire size.... you get the idea

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok. im not looking for huge tires. maybe 35's 33's for sure. im live in iowa and we dont have rocks to climb just mud and snow. the jeep has a ton of miles so im going to have to go through the entire drive train eventually. it has a 4cyl now though im not against going with a 6 cyl or v 8. actually thats another question. with mudding being my best chance of offroading im thing the 4 cyl wont cut it without gearing it to the sky. now it has a 5 speed manual though if i do a switch im leaning towards a 700r4. i wont need the jeep for daily transportation but want to be able to drive it on the streets from time to time without following behind it with a trailer. A rough draft of my uneducated plan would be 4.3 v6, 700r4, widest set of 33's i could find because i prefer the look of wider tires. as i said just rough draft

·
Founder, ThumbJeeps
4,062 Posts