Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all! Just bought an 89 Sahara, 143000 miles, well maintained, pretty much stock, 4.2 carbed engine. Anything in particular I should look for in the way of problem areas?
(cool site, BTW)

·
Registered
925 Posts
congrats! welcome to the yj fam!, im new to the fam myself, just got one a little over a month ago (i think), a 94 with 142k... just be ready to spend all your money. all of it. haha

·
Registered
316 Posts
im not high impressed with the carb on mine, the choke doesnt open up soon enuff and it seems to have a flat spot. id upgrade to the fuel injectoin if you have the money and good luck with your new yj in sure you`ll enjoy it.

·
Registered
592 Posts
Welcome to the group and the YJ club:)
Sounds like we have the same Jeep as mine is an 89 YJ Sahara with a 4.2. It is still nearly stock

Well it was a nearly stock a few years ago. I hope you are not planning on saving money for your retirement:D
Jim

·
Registered
227 Posts
Hey all! Just bought an 89 Sahara, 143000 miles, well maintained, pretty much stock, 4.2 carbed engine. Anything in particular I should look for in the way of problem areas?
(cool site, BTW)
The most frequent problem with the 4.2 6I is the old Carter carb and the pulse air system. Depending on the type of driving you do you may want (or have) to do something with the carb. You will need to check with your State MVD people as to what they will allow you to do.

I have an 88 YJ set up like yours when I bought it and have put on a High Energy Ignition system, MC 2100 carb and pulled all of the pulse air and emissions crap on it. Am still getting it right for me, but definitely better than before.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·