Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 95 yj lifted with 32" tires. Recently started a very loud popping sound when accelerating in all gears. Does it in 2h and 4h, and also when I engage the clutch. It's intermittent and goes away. At this time 4h does not work but thinking that is a separate issue. Not sure exactly where to source the noise. But it seems major but goes away. Any help would be great. Thanks.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I ckd u joints. They don't seem loose but I'm no mechanic. I was thinking chain in transfer case but would it act up in 2h as well?

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
Easiest way to check your U joints is to grease them, if they are going bad they will stop making noise for a lil bit.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
U joints checked out ok. Thinking it's something internal. Still can pinpoint if it's from transmission or transfer case. Possibly even a clutch issue?

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
That's what I'm leaning towards now. Does it in both 2h and 4h. Once I make a sharp left turn the noise goes away.

·
Registered
86 Posts
If you'd check all that and still can't find what's wrong check and make sure your U bolts for your rear leaf springs are still tight after a little they tend to loosen up due to the lift settling. Mine was doing something similar and that's what it was, do you experience any vibration while driving anywhere from 35mph-55mph if so I'd check rear U bolts along with U joints. Just my suggestion from personal experience.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Doesn't vibrate, just grinds and pops. Almost as if it's going to pop out of gear. But I will check that as well. I'm open for any suggestions. Thanks!

·
Registered
339 Posts